With Corsets on My Mind…

1890corsetphiladelphiamuseumofart

(1890’s Overbust Corset, Image Credit: Philadelphia Museum of Art)

Look at all the beautiful little details on this 1890’s corset!

Once again I have these beauties on my mind because this morning I ordered my first steel boned underbust corset! In about a week or so, I will have 14 steel bones hugging me and hopefully making life at least a little better pain management wise. Much hemming and hawing, reading and research was done in the last two weeks, but I finally took the plunge. I would still love to learn to sew my own corsets one day, because they can be such things of beauty as well as function, but I’m going to work on getting my fitting skills, etc, up to scratch before taking that next step.

The injury to my back and neck may actually have been a pinched nerve, but I’m still not entirely sure. I do know that it is finally starting to get better/easier to manage and I’m mostly dealing with my regular ol’ daily back pain, which I figure an underbust corset could help quite a bit. But since the injury, whatever it was/is, is finally starting to get easier to cope with, I’m now able to get some actual sewing done! I just have to take it slowly and try to make myself do only a little at a time, not hours upon hours at the machine – sadly. I’m glad that I am at this point though, at least, because being stuck lying on my back unable to sew and create and do all the little things in general that make me happy and relieve anxiety was absolutely soul crushing.

I’m hoping once I get my corset, it will help me be able to handle things that have been painful and hard for decades – like sitting in chairs of any kind for more than a few minutes at a time! If a bit of fabric, lace and steel could help me manage the level of pain I am in on a daily basis, it would improve the quality of my life a heck of a lot and give me more freedom to do the things that I love. My fingers are firmly crossed.

So, since I gave you some scattered thoughts on how I just bought a corset (!!), and showed you one lovely photograph I thought I would share a few more images with you from The Philadelphia Museum of Art’s website, which has some beautiful corsets in it’s collection, you really must give their site a visit and have a look for yourself!

(Image Credit: Philadelphia Museum of Art)

6 thoughts on “With Corsets on My Mind…

    • Thank you, Jennifer!! I hope so too! πŸ™‚ I know that even the crappy one I had with plastic boning was helping, until the plastic bones decided that they were going to up and quit and started bending in ridiculous ways just from being worn. LOL. Steel bones should last a heck of a lot longer and not wimp out on me like plastic. I’m looking forward to at least giving it a shot! I will definitely be updating with whether or not it helps and all of that fun stuff. πŸ™‚

      Like

  1. Congrats on taking the leap! πŸ™‚ But can we have a picture of the one you ordered, please? (from the seller’s website) I’m being really nosey, I know. πŸ˜‰

    The thing to remember with steel boned corsets is that they take a little time to settle to your shape. So on the first day you need to re-lace the corset every hour, and I mean really loosen the laces and tighten again so that the corset would adjust to your shape. It takes a day or two of wear for it to become properly comfortable.

    Like

    • I’ll totally post a picture! I bought it from corsetdeal.com like you recommended! πŸ™‚ Thank you SO much for the tip on where to buy one, and the one you just gave on re-lacing it every hour! I’ll make a note of it so I can make sure to do that when I get it! πŸ˜€

      Oh, and by the way, I realized the other day that I was wrong about the bobbin shuttle for my Singer not being a Singer part! I had to do some adjustments on it a few days ago because I was having tension issues and decided while I was at it to have a look under the leaf – and sure enough, that’s where the Simanco mark was, I just didn’t look for it correctly last time. So I’m happy about that! πŸ™‚

      Like

      • Re: corset – very pretty! Flat bones are a bit “old fashioned” because spiral bones allow for more movement. However, in my experience flat bones offer far better back support exactly because they limit lateral movement. It’s a good model to start, I reckon. And soooooo pretty! Flat bones take a bit longer to settle in, so may be two days of frequent relacing could be recommended (less frequent on day two).

        Good new about the Singer shuttle! πŸ™‚ Probably still a good idea to buy another one since you’ve got two machines. πŸ˜‰

        Liked by 1 person

      • Oh good!!! I was hoping that the flat steel bones wouldn’t be too much of an issue, and it sounds like it will work out better than I thought! I will definitely take your advice on frequently re-lacing for the first two days! Better back support is exactly what I need. Thank you so much for all of the tips, advice, and information when it comes to all of this stuff, you’ve been such a big help! πŸ™‚

        I will definitely be looking for a second shuttle, having to swap it back and forth between machines is a pain and I figure having a second one would also come in handy if anything ever happened to one of them! πŸ™‚

        Like

Leave a Reply

