The Marvelous Mrs. Beeton, with Sophie Dahl

Since I’ve spent the last week now pretty much trapped in bed due to ever increasing back and neck pain, unable to do any sewing, or, well, much of anything really, I’ve been watching a lot of documentaries on Victorian and Edwardian life. I thought I would share with you all one that I am currently stuck into it – The Marvelous Mrs. Beeton, presented by Sophie Dahl, who was one of my favourite fashion models as a teenager – I still love this woman!

Mrs. Isabella Beeton wrote “Mrs. Beeton’s Book of Household Management” in the Victorian era, and as you know, it is just the kind of book that fascinates me, in this documentary, Sophie Dahl aims to find out more about Isabella Beeton herself and what made her want to write this book, which became, as Sophie states, “the domestic bible for Victorians.” I love this kind of stuff! If you do too, why not settle in with me and learn about Mrs. Beeton?

Leave a Reply

