Pollyanna (1913) and Pollyanna Grows Up (1927 edition) by Eleanor Hodgman Porter

Today I’d like to share my first edition copy of Pollyanna by Eleanor Hodgman Porter, as well as my copy of Pollyanna Grows Up, which was first published in 1915, mine is the 1927 edition. Some may remember the story of the nearly insufferably positive and “glad” orphan Pollyanna Harrington from the 1960 Disney movie starring Hayley Mills in the title role. I haven’t actually read these books, yet, but plan on starting just as soon as I finish the ten book deep pile I’m currently making my way through. I could do with a large dose of syrupy, saccharine sweet gladness in spite of adversity.

I got these two books by chance in a box of free books – what luck! I love the note written in the copy of Pollyanna, to a young girl from her mother in 1926. It’s so sweet I had to include it.

 

2 thoughts on “Pollyanna (1913) and Pollyanna Grows Up (1927 edition) by Eleanor Hodgman Porter

Leave a Reply

