Collections: Marilyn Monroe

M29893-7 003

(Image Credit: Swann Galleries)

Marilyn has had a very special place in my heart ever since I first saw her in “Some Like It Hot” when I was a very young girl. Throughout my life I have read every book I could get my hands on about her, bought many calendars (the majority are not pictured), and have collected and been given Marilyn books, movies and memorabilia as gifts by my mother and sisters – even my husband has contributed to the collection, with calendars and some beautiful wall art (which is pictured!) A lot of my collection is not pictured at present, but I will be adding more photos as I can. Included in the “not pictured” category are a Marilyn Monroe magnetic “paper doll”, a wall clock, a two cd collection of her music, more books, and numerous other little things that I can’t think of at the moment. There are other items I’d like to find, such as a complete collection of her films on dvd, and “Icon: The Life, Times and Films of Marilyn Monroe” volumes one and two, by Gary Vitacco-Robles, but these things take time – I’ve been adding to this collection since I was a teenager! – and I don’t think I will ever stop collecting. Yes, Norma Jeane Baker is one of my favourite ladies. She was smart, funny, honest, strong, caring and kind, in spite of everything that happened to her in her life, and I admire her for that.

(Note: Some of these books don’t have the most reliable/truthful information from the most reliable/honest sources, but, like I said, I will read anything I can get my hands on about her and I’m always adding to my book collection! Luckily, since the majority of my books are second hand, the crummy authors who have an agenda or don’t check their sources don’t get a cent of my money, so there’s that, at least!)

2 thoughts on “Collections: Marilyn Monroe

  1. Lovely collection!

    The ‘bullshit’ bothers me. When dealing with somebody that went through a lot of hard times in their life, my guess is the natural story will be rough enough to handle without the author putting a lot of fake bullshit on top so the life looks even more tragic/”trainwreck-ish” than it was to start with. 😦

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

