The Girl’s Own Paper, August 1898

Years ago, I was given this copy of The Girl’s Own Paper as a gift, and it really is amazing. It is full of stories, illustrations, advice and fascinating ads – including some for quack medicine! I thought I would share it with you all today. The ad in the back for “Pure – Wholesome – Delicious” Bird’s Custard Powder made me laugh because I have a tin – not from 1898, obviously – in my kitchen and had actually been thinking of making some later on, so of course I had to take a photo of that to show you as well. How amazing and oddly comforting that something like Bird’s Custard Powder is still around after all this time.

I hope you enjoy these!

 

2 thoughts on “The Girl’s Own Paper, August 1898

  1. These are cool! And I gotta say the picture of the young lady with the text “How Sweet the Bower” is such a pretty drawing. I just love the scenery behind her!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

