Sewing: The Complete Guide by Judith Shuler 1983

I found this gem yesterday at the thrift store for $1.99. Unfortunately I couldn’t find out who illustrated it, but since it was the early 1980’s, the illustrations still had a bit of a 1970’s flair to them, which is really cool and I really enjoy looking at the illustrations. I haven’t actually read the book yet, but I’m looking forward to it! It has a lot of information and instructions on techniques that appear to be fully illustrated which is always awesome for visual learners like myself.

Once again, today, I’ll be posting a bunch of photos that I took of the illustrations in my copy, as well as a little section on shirring, for all those BSC fans out there who wondered what on earth shirring was when it was mentioned as a design feature on the dress that Stacey wore to the dance in “Stacey’s Big Crush”! I hope you all enjoy these! You can read the book for free here at openlibrary.org.

 

2 thoughts on “Sewing: The Complete Guide by Judith Shuler 1983

  1. I’ll be posting a bunch of photos that I took of the illustrations in my copy, as well as a little section on shirring, for all those BSC fans out there who wondered what on earth shirring was when it was mentioned as a design feature on the dress that Stacey wore to the dance in “Stacey’s Big Crush”! I hope you all enjoy these! –lol, I gotta admit ‘shirring’ goes over my head anytime I saw it in a BSC snark! Now I know what it looks like! Thank you! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • YAY!! You’re so welcome! When I first read/saw what shirring actually is in a sewing book, it was as if a Kristy Thomas sized light bulb went on over my head and a (not-so) angelic choir of Pike siblings began singing “Hallelujah.” LOL. The whole shirring business had been puzzling the heck out of me ever since that book came out!

      Like

Leave a Reply

