Deadly Strangers, 1974/5

My husband and I recently watched this gem of a 1970’s British horror movie and we both loved it. I will not be giving much information about this movie at all, because I’d like you to be able to watch it as we did, blind, without knowing the outcome or any of the twists and turns, because one of the best things about this film is that it keeps you guessing and second guessing and second guessing your second guesses, right until the very end. Starring Hayley Mills and Simon Ward, this take on the hitchhiker urban legend/trope is truly enjoyable, especially as far as 1970’s horror movies go! It definitely kept us both on the edge of our seats, and Hayley Mills gives an absolutely wonderful performance that is worth watching in and of itself.

Though, I will add a trigger warning to this film, even though I don’t typically do that, but there are scenes involving attempted rape and violence that could be triggering/upsetting for those who have experienced sexual abuse/rape.  Even though it could be argued that it is integral to the story/character and not incredibly graphic or anything, it is still upsetting to watch, I’m not gonna lie. But the film is wonderful in spite of it.  I scanned through the version in the video I am posting and couldn’t find the scene, but that doesn’t necessarily mean it isn’t there, just that I couldn’t find it.

Trigger warnings and everything aside, I hope you enjoy the movie!

 

Leave a Reply

