Some of my favourite vintage sewing pattern finds

I just wanted to share a couple of my favourite vintage sewing pattern finds – so far! I haven’t sewn any of these yet, but definitely will be once I learn how to do small bust adjustments without tearing my hair out.

Dope that I am, some of these pictures are missing the actual pattern company and pattern numbers, but if anyone is interested, let me know and I will pull them out of my collection and give all the details!

There is something so just so beautiful and wonderful to me about even just holding these in my hands, knowing that way back when, another girl or woman went to the store, bought them, sewed them and loved them. I’ve sewn vintage doll patterns and it’s almost the same sort of feeling. I think with these, it may be partly because I can imagine my mom wearing outfits like those shown in some of the patterns from the 50’s, 60’s and 70’s, when she was a young woman. I get the same feeling with vintage and antique sewing machines. There’s just something about the immediate feeling of connection with girls and women of the past that makes me feel so happy and complete – if that makes any sense.

This is why I’ve taken on the massive undertaken of restoring a vintage Singer 99-13 sewing machine. Speaking of which, since a storm is coming and I can now hear thunder, I’m going to shut down all the electronics, grab some sewing machine oil, and get to work on my old girl.

3 thoughts on “Some of my favourite vintage sewing pattern finds

  1. Pingback: Some of My Sewing Patterns | The Pretty and The Kitsch

Leave a Reply

