Spotlight: The Ultimate Fashion History with Professor Amanda Hallay

For fun I thought I would share some fashion history awesomeness with you! Professor Amanda Hallay has a fabulous youtube channel filled with lessons on fashion history, by era, from Prehistoric to today! I absolutely love watching these videos! Professor Hallay is a really delightful woman, with a great sense of humour, and amazing amount of knowledge – not only about fashion history, but history in general, which she definitely brings into the course because as she puts it, “Fashion is not an island, it is a response!” She takes care to not just feature pictures of models, starlets, etc, wearing the fashions of the day, but of regular people like you and me, as well, which is so cool. And she also takes a very inclusive and pretty darned feminist approach, to a great deal of the course material, which makes me absolutely adore these videos even more!

I have learned a lot from watching her videos and though I would love to take her actual fashion history course, these videos are really the next best thing for anyone who has an interest in the history of fashion.

I will leave you with a link to her youtube channel, The Ultimate Fashion History, but also, in keeping with my last post, her video on 1940’s fashion! Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

