Illustration Love: Sew It Yourself, How to make your own fashion classics by Gidon Lippman, illustrated by Alan Couldridge

I love vintage fashion illustrations, don’t you? For my first post to this brand new blog, I decided to share with you some marvelous 1970’s fashion illustrations by Alan Couldridge, from the book “Sew It Yourself: how to make your own fashion classics” by Gidon Lippman, Dorothy Erskine and Linda Jones which is available to read online for free at  openlibrary.org.

As a collector of vintage sewing and pattern drafting books, this is one I would love to own just for the awesome 70’s illustrations alone! I’d love to sew up every single one of these outfits.

I tried to find out information about Alan Couldridge for this post, but unfortunately could not find anything on him. If anyone has any information about this fantastic illustrator, please feel free to comment and share what you know!

2 thoughts on “Illustration Love: Sew It Yourself, How to make your own fashion classics by Gidon Lippman, illustrated by Alan Couldridge

  1. These look beautiful! Have you tried to make any of them before? If you haven’t and do try, you know you have to post the results!

    Like

    • I haven’t tried making any of them, because I don’t own the book to look through properly off the computer, but I’m seriously thinking of buying it if I ever find it online! I have a few 70’s sewing patterns that I want to sew as soon as I’ve built up enough skills though! And if do get this book and do try sewing them, I’d definitely have to post the results!!

      Thanks so much for reading and commenting, Jennifer!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

