At the drive-in: Black Christmas (1974)

1970’s horror flicks are often the epitome of kitsch and are fun to watch, even just for a laugh. But Black Christmas is a 1974 Canadian “psychological slasher” film that is truly frightening.

Wikipedia states that this film was partly inspired by a series of murders that happened in the Westmount section of Montreal, as well as the urban legend “The Baby-Sitter and the Man Upstairs” (though there is no baby-sitting in this movie!)

Set in a sorority house over Christmas break, a group of girls (including Olivia Hussey, Margot Kidder, Andrea Martin and Lynne Griffin) get a series of disturbing and skin-crawling crank calls from a man they have dubbed “The Moaner”. As the frightening calls intensify, girls begin to disappear, leading to an ending that is sure to stick with the viewer long after the film is over.

So with all that said, grab some popcorn and watch this film on youtube, while you still can!

 

2 thoughts on “At the drive-in: Black Christmas (1974)

  1. They’ve been playing this movie quite a few times on the movie channels over here. Sounds like an interesting movie and I really enjoyed Olivia Hussey in the few projects I’ve seen her in. Looks like I’ll definitely have to watch it on tv because I’m getting an error over here. I guess I’m not too surprised if the movie was straight out the way it was intended. I’ve seen a lot of videos that try and trick the site in order to stay up–Window within a window, voices fucked up on purpose, any text reversed, etc.

    Like

    • Ugh! Sorry about the video! I guess it must’ve been taken down or something.

      I’ve seen that kind of thing a lot to, the window within a window, squeaky sped up voices, weird blurring, etc, I hate that. I mean, I get it, and I get using maybe one of those cheats, but really, some of them are rendered totally unwatchable and what’s the point in putting the video up then? If the video is in a window within a window with a seizure inducing background, plus weirdly blurred in the middle AND the voices are all fucked up (i’ve actually seen videos come up like this with all 3 “effects”) then nobody will want to watch it. But, like I said, I get it, youtube has gone completely downhill in the last couple of years when it comes to this kind of thing happening. Huge greedy corporations buying up small cool websites is why we can’t have nice things.

      Like

Leave a Reply

